Topic: REST with all-singular identifiers

I'm playing around with the RESTful tutorial found in the Pragmatic Programmers Agile Web Development with Rails, second edition, page 410. I'm trying to work with only singular identifiers, and I'm running up against what appears to be a bug in Rails, but I'm very new at this, so I'm easily confused when things don't go smoothly, so maybe it's a problem with my stuff, not Rails.

First, I created two empty rails projects like this:

~ $ rails --version
Rails 2.0.1
~ $ rails restful_plural
~ $ rails restful_singular
~ $ mysqladmin -u root -p create database restful_plural_development
~ $ mysqladmin -u root -p create database restful_singular_development

After editing ~/restful_plural/config/database.yml and ~/restful_singular/config/database.yml to connect to my MySQL server, I then edited ~/restful_singular/config/initializers/inflections.rb to this:
Inflector.inflections do |inflect|
  inflect.uncountable %w( fish sheep article )
end

Next, I generated the RESTful scaffolds like this:
~$ cd ~/restful_plural
~/restful_plural $ ruby script/generate scaffold article title:string summary:text content:text
~/restful_plural $ rake db:migrate
~/restful_plural $ cd ~/restful_singular
~/restful_singular $ ruby script/generate scaffold article title:string summary:text content:text
~/restful_singular $ rake db:migrate

At this point I have two very basic Rails apps called restful_singular and restful_plural . They are identical, except that restful_plural uses the identifiers "article" and "articles" , while restful_singular only ever uses "article" in all contexts. Now, when I run script/server from restful_plural, everything works as expected. However, when I run the server from restful_singular, I get errors.

Running the restful_singular server, I point my browser to "http://localhost:3000/articles/new"
And I get this error message:
    No route matches "/articles/new" with {:method=>:get}