Topic: Database/Data relation mapping

Okay, I'm new to rails, but I'm starting a project. I have a question.

Okay, lets say I have a database of people. Each row is a different person with columns such as name, address, etc. Now, there's also a column for spouse, so this column needs to hold the id of another person from the same table. How would I implement a drop down list of the "name" column which would enter the id of the spouse? Assume I'm just working from a basic scaffold (because I am right now). Also, what would be the proper naming convention for the "spouse" column in the database?

Last edited by PhogHawk (2006-07-09 09:14:56)

Re: Database/Data relation mapping

The way rails does its magic with column names and relations doesn't really work well with a table relating to itself, so what I would do is create a spouse_id column in your people table and specify the relation like this:

class Person < ActiveRecord::Base
  belongs_to :spouse, :class_name => 'Person', :foreign_key => 'spouse_id'
  # ...
end

And then in your _form.rhtml partial, you can add a spouse selection like this:
<p>
  <label for="person_spouse_id">Spouse:</label><br />
  <%= collection_select :person, :spouse_id, (Person.find_all - [@person]), :id, :name %>
</p>

I haven't tested it, but I think that will work.

Railscasts - Free Ruby on Rails Screencasts

Thanks a lot. This worked more than sufficiently. I just have one more question, how do I get the spouse_id column to show up in the show.rhtml view? For some reason it seems like it's not recognizing the new column in the Person.content_column method that's used in the loop for show.rhtml.

Edit: after looking through the code, I realize that Rails probably doesn't recognize any column name with "id" in it as a "content_column". That's probably why it's not showing "spouse_id". I'm still curious how to display each person's spouse in the table in show.rhtml. Can anyone help?

Last edited by PhogHawk (2006-07-09 17:17:23)