Topic: Site-wide Announcements on Rails 2.1

Hi All.

Note: As a newer Rails developer I feel the desperate need to contribute to the community that (as of now) I am taking so much from.  I feel that this community should be about give and take and that I must do some giving for all my taking.

###

A few weeks ago Railscast #103 came out showing us how to build a Site-wide Announcements system.  I followed the tutorial and was happy to have it working!  When I upgraded to Rails 2.1 and all its time zones and named_scope glory, the code broke.  Today I debugged it and updated it for Rails 2.1.  I'd like to teach everyone how I fixed and improved it all. 

Obviously a lot of credit goes to Ryan for first teaching us how to solve the problem in the first place.  Before I begin showing you how I improved the code, if you haven't yet watched Railscast #103, do so.  Ryan introduces the theory behind the code.

Note: I have renamed some of the methods to my own liking.

Start off, like in the Railscast and generate a scaffold for your Announcements and a Javascripts  controller:

script/generate scaffold announcement message:text starts_at:datetime ends_at:datetime
script/generate controller javascripts
rake db:migrate

Now create a partial for displaying the announcements (_annoucements.html.erb).  Put it wherever in your views folder you would like.  I put all my layout partials in their own directory (layout_partials) to keep my views folders tidy.

Add the following code to the layout files you want to display the announcements:

<%= render :partial => "layout_partials/announcements" unless announcements_for_display.empty? -%>

Since this partial will be rendered by different controllers, be sure to include the folder before the partial name. 

The unless announcements_for_display.empty? calls a helper method... I will get to that soon.

Now lets write the code for the partial.

<div id="announcement" class="container">