Topic: HTML Table Delete Link

I have a web page with 4 input fields which get stored in the session upon submit. The page posts back to itself and the session data is output in an HTML table.
I have a delete link set up for each row of the table but I can't figure out how to identify the item in the array/cart to delete.
I can set up an input field to manually enter an item number (rownum) as follows but I'd rather handle it by simply clicking the link.
I am new to this and I'm sure my code is a little rough. Please excuse the mess.
Lastly, I've been working from the Agile Web Development book but it gets very confusing for me when straying from the standard database application. Can someone suggest a good beginner resource for non-database backed applications?
Thank you.

session[:cart].items.delete_at(rownum)

My view looks like this:
<table border="1" cellpadding="0">

<tr>
       <th>GPI</th>
       <th>Plasm</th>
       <th>Member Pay</th>
       <th>Plan Pay</th>
    </tr>
       <%= start_form_tag :action => 'add_claim' %>

<td><%= text_field_tag( :gpi, @params[:gpi], :size => 14) %></td>
       <td><%= text_field_tag(:plasm, @params[:plasm], :size => 6) %></td>
       <td><%= text_field_tag(:memberpay, @params[:memberpay], :size => 8) %></td>
       <td><%= text_field_tag(:planpay, @params[:planpay], :size => 8) %></td>
       <td><%= submit_tag "Add Claim"%></td>

<%= end_form_tag %>

<%= start_form_tag :action => 'delete_claim' %>
Delete claim number: <%= text_field_tag(:deleteitem, @params[:deleteitem], :size => 8) %>
<%= submit_tag "Remove Claim"%>
<%= end_form_tag %>

<%= button_to "Remove All" , :action => :empty_cart %>

<table border="1" cellpadding="0">

<tr>
       <th ALIGN=LEFT>GPI</th>
       <th>Plasm</th>
       <th>Member Pay</th>
       <th>Plan Pay</th>
    </tr>

<% if  not session[:cart].blank? %>

<% for item in session[:cart].items %>
            <tr>
            <td> <%= h(item[0]) %> </td>
            <td><%= h(item[1]) %></td>