Topic: Rails 2 and Autocomplete - Absolute Beginners Guide

I am writing this post after 2 weeks of trying to figure out the auto_complete plugin for rails 2.  I am a RoR newb, and it has been extremely difficult to find out how to properly implement this plugin.  Also, as a RoR newb, I feel alot of tutorials "assume" alot, which can be difficult for a beginner.
  After reading dozens of tutorials on the ajax autocomplete plugin, I finally found one that had the "missing link".  http://trix.pl/blog/auto-complete-for-r … orial.html 
  But I would like to craft a tutorial that starts from the very beginning and doesn't assume anything(except that you have ruby,rails and mysql up and running already).  So here goes...

Create your rails project

rails demo -d mysql
cd demo

Create a scaffold

ruby script/generate scaffold customer name:string

Edit your database.yml file

cd config
edit database.yml
add you password to the demo_development password: field
save and exit

Create your database

cd..
rake db:create
rake db:migrate

Start your server

ruby script/server

Launch your web browser

127.0.0.1:3000/customers
click the new customer link and start adding some new customer names
once you have about 5 or 6 names in your database you can close the web browser and ctrl c in your console

So that was all the basic stuff to get out projects framework, heres where we will get the autocomplete functionality going

Back in your console

ruby script/plugin install auto_complete

Edit your customers_controller.rb
add line 2

class CustomersController < ApplicationController
  auto_complete_for :customer, :name

Edit your views/customers/new.html.erb
change line 8 to...
<h1>New customer</h1>

<% form_for(@customer) do |f| %>
  <%= f.error_messages %>

<p>
    <%= f.label :name %><br />
    <%= text_field_with_auto_complete :customer, :name, {}, {:method => :get} %>
  </p>
  <p>
    <%= f.submit "Create" %>
  </p>
<% end %>
<%= link_to 'Back', customers_path %>