Topic: Calling the same form multiple times

Hi,

I'm very new to rails and have the following question - I initially call a view with a :param from a link. After a save I would like to recall that same form - with the same :param - so that further input can be entered. It's not important to remember the previous input and I don't know how many times the form input will be carried out.

The controller in question looks like this...

class UnitController < ApplicationController

scaffold :unit

def new
    @unit = Unit.new
    @page_action = "Create new unit"   
    @army = Army.find_by_id(@params['army'] )
  end

def create
    @unit = Unit.new(@params['unit'])
    if @unit.save
        redirect_to :action => 'new'
    else
        render_action 'new'
    end
  end

end

The view looks like this...

<h2>Army unit construction </h2>
<p>Army under construction <%=@army.name %></p>
<form action="/unit/create" method="post">
<input id="unit_army_id" name="unit[army_id]" size="5" type="hidden" value="<%=@army.id %>"/>
<p>
<b>Unit Abbreviation:</b><br/>
<input id="unit_myabbr" name="unit[myabbr]" size="5" type="text" value=""/>
</p>
  <b>Unit Description</b><br/>
<input id="unit_unitdesc" name="unit[unitdesc]" size="20" type="text" value=""/>

<p>Unit weight</p>
<%= select_tag "unit_weight", "<option>Light</option> <option>Medium</option> <option>Heavy</option>" %>

<input type="submit" value="Create"/>
</form>

Re: Calling the same form multiple times

It looks like you are doing things correctly by redirecting to the "new" action again when the "create" action succeeds. But from what I understand there are some parameters that the "new" action expects and you need to resend these same parameters? There are two possible solutions. One is to  call redirect_to :back like this:

def create
    if @unit.save
        redirect_to :back
    else
        render_action 'new'
    end
  end