Topic: iterating through collection in view

OK, total ruby/rails newbie here.  I've been banging my head against this for a
number of hours now, and am sure I'm doing something stupid.

I've got two classes, modeled loosely on the (great) tutorials here on this forum.

class SafeSection < ActiveRecord::Base
    belongs_to :safe_verifications

# adds up and returns the total dollar value of the section.
    def total
        change = pennies + nickels + dimes + quarters + other_coin
        return change
    end
end

class SafeVerification < ActiveRecord::Base
    has_many :safe_sections
end

In the view I can add multiple section objs associated with a particular parent (Yay!).  The problem lies in displaying some info.

Created in the controller:

def create
  @safe_verification = SafeVerification.new(params[:safe_verification])
  params[:safe_sections].each_value { | safe_section | @safe_verification.
safe_sections.build(safe_section) }

My problem in the view:
<% for safe_verification in @safe_verifications %>
  <tr>
        <td> <%= h safe_verification.login %> </td>
        <td> <%= number_to_currency safe_verification.over_short %> </td>
        <td>  <%= safe_verification.safe_sections.count %>
        <%=  safe_verification.safe_sections[0].total unless safe_verification
.safe_sections[0].nil?  %>
        <%=  safe_verification.safe_sections.each { |a| a.total unless a.nil? }  %>
        </td>
<% end %>

I'm able to access the model safe_verification.  I can access the safe_sections collection and use the count member (line 5).  I can even access the collection by the array access(line 6).  But the .each line (8) just doesn't work.  I get #<SafeSection:0xb72ee96c> for each of the outputs, instead of the output of the total function, as I was intending.

What am I doing wrong?  It seems the SafeSection address is really close, but I want to dereference it, but don't know how.  google isn't enough in this case.