Topic: data modelling for beginners

Hi,

I'm new to rails and got some problems how i should design my models and relations the "rails way".

I've got the following Models:
User
Group
Item
ItemGroup
Rights

relations:
User habtm  Groups
User has many Items
Item habtm ItemGroups

Group is set up as "acts_as_nested_set" so i can have subgroups and stuff..
thats the easy way :-))

Where the problems start is with the rights on items:

a User can have different rights on a item.
also a Group can have rights on a single item
then a User can also have rights on a ItemGroup (say rights on items through ItemGroups)
so can a Group have rights on ItemGroups...

hope this makes sense and it's understandable... sorry for the bad english.. my native language is german.

anyway, the question is... how can I implement the "Right" model with its relations in a proper way?
do i have to setup multiple Right models (inheritance)? or can i handle that somehow with polymorphic associations?

cheers,
maze

Re: data modelling for beginners

First of all, what exactly does the Right model contain? Does it contain "can_destroy", "can_update" kind of boolean columns? Is it used to determine what a given user/group can do to an item/item group?

Railscasts - Free Ruby on Rails Screencasts

My current project has a similar User-Group-Rights Model.

We have created a link between Users and Usergroups with HABTM. Our User model also has a has_many relationship to our usergroup_permission model (it works like your Rights table).

Our usergroup_permission model belongs_to user and attribute_group models. Attribute Groups is like your Items. It is the table that we want to assign permissions to.

Finally our attribute_group model belongs_to our usergroup_permission model.

The permissions table schema looks like:

create_table "usergroup_permissions", :force => true do |t|
    t.column "attributegroup_id", :integer
    t.column "usergroup_id",      :integer