Topic: Thoughts on the Rails community

I have a bit of rant (and I hope this doesn't come off as whining, but):

I've been a developer for a long time.  I have worked on hundreds of projects in dozens of languages/platforms, but I'm super-new to rails.  I'm not claiming to be the best developer on the planet, but I'm not a newb, and I generally read and research quite a bit before I ask questions.

In light of that, I must say that the rails community is one of the least friendly, least helpful, and smug communities I've ever encountered.  I have asked several questions within this forum, and have only received one response thus far.  I asked what I thought was a relatively simple question yesterday in the AJAX forum (http://railsforum.com/viewtopic.php?id=29780)I got dozens of views, no responses, which is fine.  However, when I asked this same question on IRC earlier today the responses were basically:

- "you don't understand the difference between client side code and server side code" (which I do, trust me on that one)
- "javascript and ruby don't work together" (ummm... I asked a question about a javascript helper function in rails.  I think that kind of implies that they do work together)
- "think before you ask stupid questions" (oops, how silly of me to ask a question in a help forum or an IRC channel)
- "look at the source code" (even after I explained I had looked at lower level functions like remote_function, url_for, etc and already knew that the reason this didn't work was that the url parameter was escaped somewhere in the chain)
- "that won't work" (even after I explained I knew the code I presented wouldn't work.  I put it out there as an illustration of what I was trying to do.  Obviously it doesn't work or I wouldn't be in there asking the question, would I?)