Topic: Should I Know Ruby (non ROR)

I'm rather new to programming, and was just introduced to it a few months back when I signed-up for a Ruby course through my college. I've seen some of the amazing websites ROR has generated and I would like to try making a ROR website myself. Can I skip to ROR, or should I stay focused on Ruby until I have a solid understanding of the language?

Re: Should I Know Ruby (non ROR)

The Ruby on Rails web framework is written in Ruby, so a knowledge of Ruby is pretty essential. If you've already had an introduction to Ruby, then give it a shot, it's really not that hard. Choose a simple project, or follow a tutorial, and learn as you go.

Also, when I was first learning, I started with the "Agile Web Development with Rails" book, but quickly switched over to "Ruby for Rails" to get a better understanding of the language. YMMV, though...

Good luck!

I'm a Phoenix Ruby on Rails developer and startup junkie kicking ass at Flatterline, a Ruby on Rails web application development company.

how do i build a website using ruby on rails

any suggestions..

about the tutorials..sample code..books..or open source tools
available..

thank you

Good Ruby Books

Learn to Program by Chris Pine - Excellent beginners book for anyone that is new to programming. Ruby is used throughout the entire book.

The Ruby Programming Language by Flanagan & Matsumoto - This will really help you to understand Ruby and how it works. It was written by the creator of Ruby so it is very solid info. It is pretty technical but will really help you understand Ruby.

Good Rails Books

Simply Rails 2 by Patrick Lenz - A simple, easy to read book that will get you started with Rails. It's not very deep and will get you started in the right direction.

Agile Web Development with Rails 3rd Ed. - This book will really help you to understand the inner workings of Rails and how to mkae it work for you. A must read if you are serious about developing with Rails.

Boo.