Topic: New to Capistrano and don't really understand how to use it.

HI, I am  just learning Rails and Ruby and am finding myslef a bit lost with it all.

I am not a complete newbie, have been devloping apps with php and MySQL for a few years now but am not very comfortable with Linux, having used PC's and Macs prior to now.

I need to take over the maintainance of the company website which has been created using Rails by an external company. I have downloaded the whole site using SFTP to my machine but they say I need to use svn and capistrano to maintain it but I don't know how I do this (nor particularly understand what it means)?

Some details about the system:
The site is hosted on a Linux server.
We also have an internal Staging Server which I have installed Ruby and Rails on for testing purposes.
My development machine has Windows.

How do I install Capistrano and SVN on the Stagins server.
Do I install Capistrano on this machine (Windows)?
I guess I also need a SVN client (I have used Tortoise in the past at a previous company) or does Capistrano act as this.

Once I have done this I can start unpicking it adn how it works then play around with it on the staging server before touching the live site.

Many thanks for any help.

Re: New to Capistrano and don't really understand how to use it.

Mutantsurvivor wrote:

HI, I am  just learning Rails and Ruby and am finding myslef a bit lost with it all.

I am not a complete newbie, have been devloping apps with php and MySQL for a few years now but am not very comfortable with Linux, having used PC's and Macs prior to now.

I need to take over the maintainance of the company website which has been created using Rails by an external company. I have downloaded the whole site using SFTP to my machine but they say I need to use svn and capistrano to maintain it but I don't know how I do this (nor particularly understand what it means)?

Some details about the system:
The site is hosted on a Linux server.