Topic: Where to begin?

I've had a deep seated desire to become a computer programmer for most of my life. I just never did anything with it. Well I'm tired of sitting around wishing. I want to do something.

So I'm coming at this as a super noob. I've coded C++ in college when I got my EE degree but that was years ago. I love the idea of web app development and from all the research I've done it seems like RoR is a great place to go to do some cool things.

So where does a guy begin? I'm sure there's been another thread discussing this but I couldn't find one.

Books? Sites? Communities? I have an idea for a project but I just have no idea where to begin.

Re: Where to begin?

First of all get a book (pdf format is essential, hard copy a nice to have) called AWDWR (Agile Web Development for Rails) from here
http://www.pragprog.com/titles/rails4/a … with-rails
the 4th edition is in BETA format and covers Rails 3. The fact that it's a BETA edition means that they are in the process (Pretty much complete) of bringing it up to date with Rails 3 and you get new editions of the pdf when they release an update.

Once you have had a play with the Depot app (It's an awesome tutorial and ideal for beginners and advanced programmers alike) then have a look at the Rails Casts by Ryan Bates.
http://railscasts.com/
A suoerb source of info for snippets of info on how to do stuff with Rails.

Obviously come back here if you need any further help

Oh.. And don't forget the api docs.
In fact you can find links to most of these resources on the official website here
http://rubyonrails.org/

You have definitely chosen the best web development tool with Rails and when you get seriously into it you can do some real programming with Ruby smile

Hope that helps

What you want and what you need are too often not the same thing!