Topic: restul routing and named route methods

i'm new to webdevelopment, rails and ruby.

i'm somewhat confused about named route methods that are generated with restful routing

say when i do

map.resources :posts

i realize that rails generates a lot of named routes which i can use as {named_route}_path and {named_route}_url. what i can't figure out is how do i know what parameters those named route methods take? would anybody be kind enough to help me out with this?

also how can i find out which parameters does resources method takes. i recently saw the following pieces of code but was not able to decipher them since i wasn't able to find out what parameters this method takes

map.resources :posts, :member => {:retract => :get}
map.resources :posts, :collection => {:showall => :any}

any help is appreciated

Re: restul routing and named route methods

The :member and :collection and :new hashes don't introduce any new parameters to your actions.

They add new routes, to new actions that you've written.  Remember that rails  resource oriented (RESTful) routing only introduces ONE argument , the ubiquitous :id, or with nested routes, <model>_id.  Any OTHER parameter in your routes must be put there by YOU!

Take the :member example you posted

Before you added that line to your routes,  you only had ONE way to update a post

PUT  /posts/1   will call action update

after you added that line,  you have a new SPECIAL way to update that post

GET /posts/1;retract   will call action retract

Now both the update and retract actions will start off the same,  dealing with the id parameter,  but do different things with that id

def update
  @post = Posts.find(params[:id])
  ... classic update
end

def retract
  @post.status = 'retracted'
  @post.save!
end