Topic: I want to become a freelancer

Hello,

My history is short really, I've been a Java Programmer for the last 6 years now, I'm even certified, and even though I could easily continue in this path for many more years, I've grown tired of it, I don't like doing it anymore, and seeing that the best programmers in this country are dedicated to do freelance jobs using RoR, I decided to follow their example. (They say one should do what the successful people are doing, right?)

These guys usually quit their jobs and just went for it, I'm convinced I can do the same... So, I'm writing this post because I want to have your opinion, because even though I'm certain that this is what I want to do, I know I'll probably gonna starve myself for some months before I can really pull this off !

So, what do you think? I'm mainly aiming myself to work at Odesk. What is the best advice you can give me about it? I really want to make it happen.
If there's someone here who has or is working at ODesk, it'd be really nice to hear from you. well, I don't even know what exactly to ask here, I guess I just want/need to know what I'm getting myself into....

Thanks for taking your time to read my post.

Best Regards,

J.

Re: I want to become a freelancer

You should not start freelance in rails if you never used it in production.
Compare between 6 years ago (when you started with Java) and now. You must have gain a really great skill.
I think that, even if you know lot of web development, you should practice rails aside your current work and wait a little before going in freelance.

Maybe the "best programmers" have practiced RoR in their work or in open source projects before being freelancers?
Rails is not "that easy". You can do some nice things really fast, but, like every language / frameworks, there's good practices you can only acquire with experience. Deploying is not deploying php apps, even with passenger. Scaling RoR is not easy.