Topic: I am lost...

Every guide I look at for ruby on rails is EXTREAMLY out dated... I just want a way I can impliment the wrapper here:https://github.com/chrisgillis/Heroes-of-Newerth-XML-API-Wrapper with some simple code.. I was looking at one guide, which said use ruby script/server and it will make a test server, and it says stuff like formal arument cannot be a constant and other stuff... I am not a ruby expert.. so Im scratching my head because you think there would be 1 ruby on rails guide that was up to date (I think im 3.0.5)

Re: I am lost...

Hey Falconmick -

I'm not sure what level you're at with Ruby and Ruby on Rails so please excuse if I'm just saying things you already know.

Ruby on Rails is a framework to build websites - built using the Ruby language.  To use the Heroes of Newearth XML API library, it's not required.  You can use that library from a plain ruby script.

Here's what I did to get it to work:

1. I cloned the library to my local machine:  git clone git://github.com/chrisgillis/Heroes-of-Newerth-XML-API-Wrapper.git
2. In that new local library directory I created a file "test.rb".
3. In the test.rb file, I put in the following:

require 'hon'

@my_stats = HoN::PlayerStats.new("XXXXXX")
puts @my_stats.stat("acc_games_played")
@match = HoN::MatchStats.new("match_id")
puts @match.team_one
puts @match.team_two
puts @match.summary_stats("time_played")
puts @match.team_one_stats("tm_losses")

Make sure to replace XXXXXX with the account name that you want to query.

4. then from that directory in a terminal/shell I just ran: ruby test.rb

I get the following output:

Not that interesting but it successfully retrieves data from Heroes of Newerth and outputs the results.