Topic: RoR doesn't seem to follow it's own Fat Model Skinny Controller patter

First, I'll start off with the obligatory (yet annoying), "I'm a newbie to Ruby on Rails" blah blah blah.  In fact, I am fairly new to OOP in general, but I think I understand the 5-minute basics of OOP. 

I have been creating a basic site by following along in the book "Agile Web Development with Rails".  I've also been reading about the concept of skinny controller / fat model and I think I get it, generally speaking.  While following along with the book, I created my basic database, model, controller, and view.  When I look at the code that Rails generated, it is anything but skinny controller / fat model.

My controller:

class GlucoseLogsController < ApplicationController
  # GET /glucose_logs
  # GET /glucose_logs.xml
  def index
    @glucose_logs = GlucoseLog.all

respond_to do |format|
      format.html # index.html.erb
      format.xml  { render :xml => @glucose_logs }
    end
  end

# GET /glucose_logs/1
  # GET /glucose_logs/1.xml
  def show
    @glucose_log = GlucoseLog.find(params[:id])

respond_to do |format|
      format.html # show.html.erb
      format.xml  { render :xml => @glucose_log }
    end
  end

# GET /glucose_logs/new
  # GET /glucose_logs/new.xml
  def new
    @glucose_log = GlucoseLog.new

respond_to do |format|
      format.html # new.html.erb
      format.xml  { render :xml => @glucose_log }
    end
  end

# GET /glucose_logs/1/edit
  def edit
  end

# POST /glucose_logs
  # POST /glucose_logs.xml
  def create
    @glucose_log = GlucoseLog.new(params[:glucose_log])

respond_to do |format|
      if @glucose_log.save
        format.html { redirect_to(@glucose_log, :notice => 'Glucose log was successfully created.') }
        format.xml  { render :xml => @glucose_log, :status => :created, :location => @glucose_log }
      else
        format.html { render :action => "new" }