Topic: Validation vs Foreign Keys [Solved]

I am new to rails but I have some exp. with Ruby.  I am working on a program that will catalog a collection, I have certain tables setup that will just store values such as author, publisher, artist, etc.  They are not user writable.  Normally I would put constraints in the user tables for this such as references or foreign key but the rails documentation stress keeping the logic in the head not in the db so I looked at performing these checks using validations.  My question is, is it possible and plausible to take user data from a form, validate it against a pre-built table and if valid enter it into the user table or give the user an error if invalid?  Should I use a foreign key plugin or execute raw sql for this to ensure integrity or will validation be sufficient?  The other question I have is where to put the code.  The documentation says to keep the controllers skinny, so I would tend to put this in the model, but doesn't the controller handle the incoming input?

Thanks
Matty

Last edited by matty (2011-04-27 09:49:35)

Re: Validation vs Foreign Keys [Solved]

hi matty. I just want to pick up on a couple of points that suggest to me that you have been mislead in some way or you have misunderstood something

rails documentation stress keeping the logic in the head not in the db

That's not strictly true. Rails stresses that validations and businss logic should be kept firmly in the model or middle tier layer this is mainly because programmers are lazy and undisciplined and will dot their business logic around their controllers, in their views and anywhere else it is possbile to put it rather than in model where it firmly belongs.
to the absolute contrary of your impression It is extremely good practice and very desirable to have your database stucture back up your business logic with fk constraints, indexes etc... so do both smile