Topic: is ruby built for business applications?

Hi guys

i am at a point where i am deciding what language i should use to deploy my business web application.

being a .NET developer i am working on MVC but have read alot about riby on rails.

i know big sites use it like twitter etc but would be good language to develop SAAS in the cloud?

any replies would be great

cheers

Re: is ruby built for business applications?

Of course it's a language capable of doing so, but as always the answer is, it depends.

I am a Ruby developer, and I love it, and if I was working on an SaaS I would chose it in a heart beat. You will hear people tell you that Ruby is slow, this is true, but I also content that for 99% of cases, this doesn't matter. This really is pointless question though. The question should not be, is Ruby capable of doing this, the question really is, are YOU capable of doing it. If you are capable, then are you stil capable doing it in Ruby? If not, then don't use it. Your customers don't give a ***** what your product is written in, they care about what they see in their browser, and if it helps them, is easy to use etc, am I getting value for money, technology matters little.

Hi

i believe that Ruby is capable but i am currently deciding between .net and ruby.

i have read that ruby is slow but that is big scale like twitter but no way will my application be that large (well maybe wink )

i have developed in .NET but want to develop the application rapidly and make the UI very slick

it also comes down to cost microsoft charge for everything

big decision

At my company we do both .NET (also MVC) and RoR projects.  In most cases the differences are not visible to the clients; not even on the UI (since it's HTML/CSS/JS anyway).  A few key differences in our practice are: