Topic: Rails components and widgets

Hi

I am a newbie trying to get my head around Ruby and especially RoR... One thing that strikes me is that while MVC-model is good I would like to have some "components"... Coming from JSF backround I would like to have third party web components (like for example calendar, editable table, etc...) and just plug those into the Framework...

So my question is that is there any production quality web components for RoR ?

Thank you

Best Regards Tuomas

Last edited by tkatva (2012-01-09 17:35:48)

Re: Rails components and widgets

There are hundreds.  they come in three basic forms

gems
plugins
jquery plugins.

Google around and you'll find almost anything you need,  and or learn how to re-package anything you may have developed to share with others.

Joe got a job, on the day shift, at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen, arrogantly twisting the sterile canvas snout of a fully charged icing anointment utensil.

What are the most sophisticated ? Is there a good framework with editable table, dual select list, maybe some graphs etc ? Some examples would be greatly appreciated... Thank you very much.

Best Regards Tuomas Katva

First, jquery support is now the default and built into Rails,  so when you want to do things that are primarily related to snazzy user interfaces,  think about jquery plugins.

Jquery-ui is very good, I use it.

http://jqueryui.com/demos/

Check out their demo page,  lot's of neat stuff, the data picker is very good,  they have a nice drag and drop feature,  nice icons,  etc.