Topic: Changing the color of a control after a page is rendered

This shouldn't be too hard, but I can't seem to find a reference to how to do it. (I am new to both Rails and js, so forgive me if this is incredibly lame).

When a user loads my page, I want to highlight the table cell they were last working with when they saved the form last.

I have tried putting "window.onload = InitDay()" near the top of my script (as well as at the end of my script), as well as "window.afterrender = InitDay()" but when the page is loaded, InitDay is called before the page is rendered, so I get an error when InitDay() tries to reference a table cell, I believe because the table has not yet been rendered.
The code in InitDay is:
x=  document.getElementById(lastday)  //lastday is the last day that was being edited and is the name of the appropriate table cell
xx = x.className // this line results in the error 'x is null'
When this code is executed the table calendar is not yet rendered, so I presume this is why 'x is null'.

So, how does one invoke a javassript function to run after a page has completed rendering?

Thanks in advance for any help.  --Fred

Last edited by fredrated (2012-01-13 13:44:40)

Re: Changing the color of a control after a page is rendered

Because jquery is now loaded by default (assuming you're on rails 3.1.X)

You do it like this,  put this is the <head> section of your page
<script type="text/javascript">
  $(document).ready(function() {
    $('#element_id_to_change').css({color:yellow});
  });
</script>

You can either put it directly in the page inside the script tags,  or use the new assets pipeline feature.  In that case just put it in a whatever.js file and put that in app/assets/javascripts,  so long as you have

<head>
<%= javascript_include_tag "application" %>
</head>

It will get loaded.