Topic: running two schema in parallel (originally posted to App Theory forum)

I am just learning RoR, planning to redevelop a PHP application using RoR to provide a REST API for an Html5/Javascript client.

The project is going to take some time to complete and I would like to implement it one module at a time. The PHP application will run in parallel with the new RoR modules, updating the same mySQL database.

One initial problem is that I would like to change the mySQL schema to RoR's naming convention, but don't want to change the PHP code. Can I use two separate schemas in mySQL? Any other ideas on solving this? - I'd like to avoid adapting the RoR code to fit the legacy schema.

I'd be grateful for any advice.

Dan

Re: running two schema in parallel (originally posted to App Theory forum)

After doing some more research I found a useful blog post that has helped - http://jonathanhui.com/ruby-rails-3-mod … y-database (the post is not up-to-date for the latest version of Rails).

What I now plan to do is:

• Where my current application is split between two databases, connect to an alternative/second database with establish_connection e.g.

establish_connection "legacy_database_#{Rails.env}"
  • Use the legacy table name by specifying the table name for the model:

self.table_name = 'MyLegacyTableName'
  • Specify the legacy primary key (instead of "id"):

self.primary_key = 'MyTableKey'
  • Add an alias for each of the old column names:

alias_attribute :rails_column_name, :LegacyColumnName
  • When adding associations / relationships between the models, specify the columns to be used as keys (as these don't conform to Rails standard):

belongs_to :parent_table, :foreign_key => :OldColumnKey, :primary_key => :OldColumnKey