Topic: Business Logic

Dear All,

I am still relatively new to rails.

I am trying to figure out where to put general business logic, not domain specific logic.

I know the usual aswer to this is in the controller.
The controller in many other MVC applications, as far as I understand it, is kind of like the user event loop, it connects the model and the view passing data between them and executing actions. So it does not feel right to me, to put 1000 lines of what I would call business logic in a controller method (an action).

In addition I can use this code elsewhere, it could be used in other projects, and in my view should remain separated from the controller code, so it can be swapped in and out.

If i create my own business directory in rails and put my code there, then it works, but does not reload, so WebBrick must be restarted with every change. include "reloadable" does not seem to work in this instance.

My head must be stuck in Java, because there must be an easier way to have non controller business logic and yet still have separation of concerns, and also have the quick turn around that is so nice in Rails.

Help me Obi-wan, help me.

cheers,
J

Re: Business Logic

I've almost never seen business logic put into the controller, in any MVC environment.  Business logic, almost by definition, belongs to the domain and thus the model.

Yes you end up with some business-related routing logic in the controller, but that should be as minimal as possible.  (Ie logic related to how errors/non-routine processes are captured and resolved.)

My RoR journey  -- thoughts on learning RoR and lessons learned in applying TDD and agile practices.