Topic: A beginner's question about directory structure

This isn't exactly an advanced design/theory question, so I'm not sure if it should have gone in general. If so, I apologize.

I'm new to Rails, just starting in fact, and I've already gobbled up all the literature I can find for free. Now I'm on my way to actually building an application, and I've hit a bit of a design snag.

Let's say I have a system for submitting requests, and on the request page a user can choose from two drop down menus - one called categories, one called departments. As per the structure of rails, I've now got category/ and department/, along with request/. So then, if I wanted to make an administrative aspect of the website, which would only allow logged-in, authenticated users to view category/ and department/, how would that be done?

I come from PHP, and under PHP it would be simple - I simply have an admin/ folder with the necessary PHP files there. Glancing at the app/ folder, I see that it is not quite the same. I can't just wrap up all the MVC components I want, toss them in a folder, and move them, as far as I can tell.

Just to clarify: I don't need help authenticating, or anything like that. I need help in understanding how to use Rails to make a cohesive directory structure, ie:
/admin/category/new
instead of
/admin/
/category/new

Thanks in advance.

Re: A beginner's question about directory structure

all the controllers you make sit outside of the public directory so you can arrange them however you feel comforatable. if you want to restric access this generally involves a user model and a before filter in the controllers you want to restrict access to. you can use a plugin (search for rick olsons plugins, he has a couple of authentication ones), also if you get rails recipes book by chad fowler he has a good user solution in there.

if you add directories to your controller it will change the way your url is displayed by default