Topic: What was your pre-RoR background?

If you were a programmer before you started with RoR what was your background?  My impression is that RoR appears to attract people from a very wide background and that variety should provide a great strength to the community, as long as we all respect the various paths that brought people to Rails.

Me, I was a computer scientist in school, focusing on AI type stuff.  Started working with PHP in 2000 when I was recruited for a side project with a lot of non-programmer helpers.  I got introduced to TDD and formalized refactorings about a year ago and I love the way it helps keep me honest in my development.  I've dabbled with Java for both desktop and web applications.  I've normally used PostGreSQL as my database of choice, and have traditionally made a lot of use of business logic in the DB.

Finding Ruby and Rails has been a wonderful experience so far; I love the expressive power of Ruby, brings me back to my school days with Scheme and Haskell -- real closures and lambdas smile and fewer parentheses wink

My RoR journey  -- thoughts on learning RoR and lessons learned in applying TDD and agile practices.

Re: What was your pre-RoR background?

I did a bit of work in C but my background has followed a pretty linear progression: HTML -> ASP -> XHTML -> LAMP -> RoR

Since Ruby is my first *real* OO language and Rails is my first MVC framework  I've been astounded at just how much I'd been missing all those years I wrote PHP.  I used to be able to get away with anything, now I have to write quality code :-)

Last edited by danger (2006-06-18 14:22:28)

I started in 99 with Perl writing web applications.  Naturally when I learned about PHP I jumped all over it.  Later I was forced into writing some JSPs.  As I learned what Java was really about  I warmed up to it.  Eventually I learned to love Java.